It’s your wedding, not theirs.

After a recent ceremony at the Mt. Washington Arboretum, I gave the bride some advice. Well, first I asked her if I could, acknowledging that she has probably received a ton of unsolicited words of wisdom lately! After gaining her consent I told her that she doesn’t owe anyone anything for the rest of the day. “It’s your wedding, not theirs. They are here to support you.” She said “Wow, thank you, no one has said that and I really needed to hear that.”

As often happens, a married couple feels obligated to have “a moment” with every single person at their reception, often forgetting to eat, drink enough water, or even share some private moments with their newly beloved. I’m here to tell you not to worry about it! You invited them to share your day, and they showed up. The end! Anything past that is about and for you and your spouse. So after the ceremony, the family photos, and that first toast, be sure to take care of yourself – and each other.

